Baked Mini Coconut Donuts–Gluten, Dairy and Yeast Free

The school’s annual “Dads and Donuts” breakfast was approaching (or so I thought) and this Mommy had big intentions.  I was going to create some amazing allergen-friendly donuts for my son to enjoy with his Daddy.  After occasionally daydreaming about making donuts for my little guy, I finally had the motivation I needed to “just do it”.

And what luck!  While perusing the Halloween aisles at Target, I happened upon this cute mini donut pan.  When I excitedly showed it to my husband and told him about my plan, he grimaced and informed me that the event had taken place that morning–(he hadn’t mentioned it, hoping I wouldn’t make him go, I presume).  In my perpetual state of haste, I had misread the date on the flyer and thought it was going to be the following month.  I felt like the most pathetic parent on the planet when I tried to explain all of this to my sweet boy.  I promised him I would make him whatever kind of donut he wanted over the weekend.  To my delight, he chose coconut.

The first batch of donuts I made were based on a King Arthur Flour recipe and I substituted coconut sugar in keeping with the coconut theme.  They were edible, but disappointing–really dry and an unattractively rust colored.  If at first you don’t succeed, then try, try again, right??  So, for the next batch I decided to go with the Nordic Ware® recipe that was included with the pan.  I made substitutions, scaled the volume down a bit and was happily surprised at how perfectly light, moist and springy they turned out.  When they had cooled just enough, we gently dipped them into a sweet glaze and then pressed them into some shredded coconut laced with a tiny bit of powdered sugar.

If you have a serious eye for detail (like my son), you have probably noticed that while this recipe yields twelve donuts, there are only eight up there on that plate he’s holding.  On our first take, with my son in the middle of the kitchen, I placed the plate between his tiny hands and urged him to keep the plate level.  Just as I started to take the picture, he tilted it to the left and donuts started sliding off like deck chairs on the Titanic.  Talk about a tragi-comic scene (!)–me scrambling to save the remaining donuts while using my legs to block our dear old dog diving for the four on the floor.  Meanwhile, dear son was laughing hysterically.  Needless to say, take two was done over the counter.

We had so much fun making (and devouring) these donuts.  I hope you will, too!

Recipe for Baked Mini Coconut Donuts:

(yields 12 mini donuts)

1 1⁄2 c. Gluten-Free Cake Flour Blend

2⁄3 c. sugar

1 1⁄2 t. baking powder

1⁄8 t. xanthan gum

1⁄4 t. nutmeg

1⁄2 t. salt

1⁄2 c. So Delicious Coconut Milk (unsweetened)

1⁄4 t. rice wine vinegar

3 T. coconut oil, melted

2 large eggs

1 t. vanilla extract

for glaze and topping:

2/3 C. sifted powdered sugar

1-2 T. So Delicious Coconut Milk (unsweetened)

1/4 C. shredded unsweetened organic coconut

1⁄ 2 t. powdered sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°.  Spray donut pan with coconut or canola oil.

For the donuts:  In a small bowl combine coconut milk and rice wine vinegar.  In a mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and xanthan gum.  In a separate bowl, whisk eggs with sugar, coconut milk/vinegar mixture, coconut oil and vanilla.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and whisk well.  Fill each donut well about 2⁄3 full.  Bake for approximately 12 min. or until the donuts are just springy to the touch.  Invert onto a cooling rack.

For the glaze:  Place 2⁄3 c. of sifted powdered sugar in a bowl and whisk in 1-2 T. coconut milk slowly until desired consistency (not too soupy, not too stiff).

For the coconut topping:  Stir 1⁄2 t. of powdered sugar into the shredded coconut and place in small shallow bowl.

Dip donuts into glaze so that the tops are evenly coated.  Then, press into the coconut.

These will keep for up to 2 days in an airtight container at room temp.  Beyond that, wrap each donut individually and then freeze.  Remove from freezer as needed.

3 comments on “Baked Mini Coconut Donuts–Gluten, Dairy and Yeast Free

  1. Amanda says:

    These sound amazing!

    • sagewhisk says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog, Amanda! If you decide to make them, let me know what you think.

      • Amanda says:

        I will! I have yet to actually try gluten-free baking since going gluten-free. It always seems so complicated and so many ingredients involved! I should start though because I miss baking 🙂 I look forward to reading more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

