Strawberry-Walnut Muffins

Strawberry-Walnut Muffins

These gems are gluten, dairy and soy-free and they are perfect for a grab-and-go breakfast or packed in a lunchbox for a sweet, yet healthy, treat! I love to make these this time of year when the organic strawberries are bountiful and, therefore, a tad more affordable. Starring alongside the lovely vitamin c and fiber-rich berries are walnuts(super-food alert!). Packed with Omega-3’s (anti-inflammatory), vitamin E, B vitamins, important minerals like selenium and zinc, they add a little crunch and complement the tang of the berries quite nicely. I hope you will make these and let me know how they turn out!

Here’s the recipe:

2 1/3 Gluten-Free Flour Blend
1/2 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. guar gum
1 t. salt
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. baking soda
3/4 C. sugar (organic cane)
1/2 C. sunflower oil
1 t. orange zest (optional)
2 large eggs
1 6 oz. container So Delicious Strawberry or Vanilla Yogurt
1/3 C. So Delicious Coconut Milk (unsweetened)
1 t. vanilla
1 1/3 C. diced organic strawberries
1/2 C. chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350. Spray one standard muffin tin with your choice of oil. (I use coconut oil)

Combine first six ingredients in a bowl. Whisk well. In a separate bowl whisk together eggs, sugar, oil, yogurt, coconut milk, vanilla and orange zest. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients, adding strawberries and walnuts at the same time. Fill muffin cups almost to the top and bake for approx. 25 min or until just firm and springy to the touch and lightly golden on top. Allow to cool in the muffin tins for 5 min. and then transfer to a rack to cool. Enjoy! These will freeze well, but do not refrigerate.  Yield: about 15 muffins

10 comments on “Strawberry-Walnut Muffins

  1. Rebecca says:

    Making these this weekend! Look delicious!

    • sagewhisk says:

      Rebecca, thank you!! Please take another look at the recipe and note that I added a container of So Delicious strawberry yogurt, as I carelessly left it out when I originally published. I promise to be more careful from now on! Let me know how they turn out!

  2. Alison says:

    I can’t wait to try these! Where do you buy guar gum?

    • sagewhisk says:

      Alison, guar gum can be purchased at most health food stores. I buy mine at Whole Foods. If you choose to make these with regular flour, then you do not need the guar gum, as it is used to help bind the ingredients in GF baked goods.

  3. Nagla Moussa says:

    Yummm, gonna try these:)

  4. Capriccio says:

    Sounds delish! I will make these for the boys and I’m excited to follow your blog friend!

  5. Barbara Markey says:

    Oh my, I might even have to bake! Yum!

  6. Alison says:

    I made these today and they are wonderful! I did not have any orange zest, so I will have to try with that next time. My store was out of the strawberry coconut yogurt, so I subbed with strawberry almond milk yogurt. I also used all purpose flour. My batter made 12 big muffins and 12 mini muffins too! I look forward to making these again!

  7. I think my girls will love these! Can’t wait to try them.

Leave a Reply

